Tuesday, September 12, 2006

About Cape Verde

Cape Verde is located in the western Africa, and consists in in a group of ten islands, where nine are inhabited. They country is divided into two groups of islands. The Barlavento group consists of the following islands: Santo Antão, São Vicente, Santa Luzia, São Nicolau, Sal and Boavista. The Sotavento group, more to the South, consists of this islands: Maio, Santiago, Fogo and Brava. Cabo Verde has a population of about half a milion people living in the country.

The official language is Portuguese but Creole (a mixture of Portuguese and West African words) is spoken more often. The currency is the Escudo Caboverdiano.

The commerce is open all week days from 8:00h to 19:00h (lunch break from 12:30h to 15:00h) and on Saturdays from 9:00h. to 13:00h. Some supermarkets work Saturday afternoon and Sunday.

Crime rates are low, but still be aware of your belongings. The emergency number is 132.

There are 2 major airports in Cape Verde, one in Sal, and another one in Santiago. Between the islands transportation is possible by plane or boat, being that almost all islands have airports.

Cape Verde’s climate is temperate all year round, with a warm, dry summer.

No comments: